Book: Creativity, Inc.


The full title is “Creativity, Inc. Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration,” and that’s exactly what you will get from this book. It talks about Pixar, one of the most successful animation companies globally (now part of Disney) by its founders.

Book premise

From Goodreads.

From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business—sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath.

Creativity, Inc. is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a manual for anyone who strives for originality, and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animation—into the meetings, postmortems, and “Braintrust” sessions where some of the most successful films in history are made.

It was an amazing journey into the evolution of a truly unique company. One that generated the most amazing stories ever made, and they keep on producing more. Story after story, success after success, and this book make it clear why. Things like this don’t happen by accident, so it’s amazing to learn from Ed Catmull. It’s a first-hand account of the thought process from the mind who came up with it.

Why did I like it?

I love Pixar’s movies! Who doesn’t? It’s not because of the technology and the amazing animation but the difference in approach to each movie. As a result, they produce heartwarming stories, stories that make you laugh, cry (I’m looking at you “Up”), and make you wonder. How amazing is that?

Pixar’s success is not an “accident.” With so many movies produced, it’s not possible that there’s any “luck factor” involved. In this book, you’ll understand how it was possible to achieve great things and develop great movies. From technology to the empowerment of the people involved to the dedication to each movie.

Official Website

Want more? Check my other books suggestions.
Disclaimer
I have no affiliation with this brand or person (people), and the views here are my own. I didn’t have any bad experiences, but if you do, please know that this is a recommendation, and you’re always free to make decisions by yourself before buying something.

Manuel Gomes

I'm a Project Manager with experience in large projects and companies. I've worked in the past for companies like Bayer, Sybase (now SAP) and I'm currently working for Pestana Hotel Group.

View all posts by Manuel Gomes →

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: